Partner School Divisions

RTR partners with several school divisions across Virginia.

These partner school divisions have different RTR pathways available. In each of our partner divisions, residents are placed in a high-needs school All pathways begin in the summer.

The Richmond-Metro Area:

Chesterfield County Public Schools

Henrico County Public Schools

Petersburg City Public Schools

Richmond City Public Schools

These school divisions are our original 4 partners. Each of these divisions offers pathways to becoming an elementary teacher, a special education teacher, or a content-specific secondary teacher. We will ask you to state your desired school division placement and share any other Richmond-metro divisions you are open to serving in. While we cannot guarantee you will be placed in your first choice of Richmond-metro divisions, we do take preferences into account when matching residents with clinical resident coaches (mentor teachers).


Additional Divisions:

In 2022, RTR expanded to various communities in Virginia to prepare teachers for high-needs schools in these divisions. Each of these divisions offers pathways to becoming an elementary or special education teacher.

Arlington County Public Schools

Brunswick County Public Schools

Dinwiddie County Public Schools

Essex County Public Schools

Fairfax County Public Schools

Hopewell City Public Schools

Prince George County Public Schools

Prince William County Public Schools

Roanoke City Public Schools

Southampton County Public Schools

Stafford County Public Schools

Surry County Public Schools